Feelings and Colors: Pt. 1

5 stages of grief.

1. I paint the brightest shade of orange all over my lids with messy strokes and multiple coats to block away the deep purple of loss, but it comes back to haunt me in my sleep every night where there is no orange, but only the deepest, darkest purple.

2. I pour black all over my heart and it burns out the red passion I used to hold, turning it into an anger that is insatiable, an anger that does not lessen. I have broken my mother’s best china and smashed the table that held my snow globes. I have not slept for ages now. My eyes burn as I stare at the blank wall, my soul burns away thread by thread as the black swallows the purple.

3. The black fades to a pale, sickly brown, and I pray to whoever and whatever may listen to rewind time and let me hear you laugh one more time. Please, I say. Please, I scream, and I scream until my voice gives out and the neighbors look through flicking curtains to find the banshee, but all that I hear is the taunting silence of the universe.

4. My heart and fingers turn into a velvety cobalt blue, and it slowly travels until I am blue all over, from the tips of my hair to the nails of my feet, and I play with fire to drive it away, and I play with sharp objects to cut it away, but even the scabs that form are blue, and the scars left behind are blue. I don’t think it will ever go away, I’m a girl of blue ice who can never get to fire in time ever again.

5. My heart is the palest shade of copper now, and I know I’m not the first person the universe has thrown off the edge of the world. I know I will not be the last. Life will forever go on as it always has because we’re just tiny ideas occupying borrowed space in the void of the universe, and that’s exactly how it is supposed to be.


Image taken from here.

18 thoughts on “Feelings and Colors: Pt. 1”

  1. As someone who appreciates creativity from ALL angles, this is very deep and scope. The uniqueness is awesome, and your attention to detail when describing it is even more precise. It’s almost like you had a bullseye on the wall, and you shot arrows into aspects of your life that needed to be tackled, for one reason or another. Love how you went above and beyond. Cheers!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. wow I love this so much. I might make a series of abstract paintings based on this, if you don’t mind? But seriously, this is writing done right!
    (I attempted posting a paraphrased version of this comment a minute ago, dunno if it got sent your way or if my network cut it off)

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It didn’t get sent! :$
      But I would absolutely LOVE to see your paintings on this, even make them the image for this post. I couldn’t find the kind of image I’d have liked for it so this one had to do, but I’m beyond eager to see what you can come up with.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

