Untitled.

I used to think, some days

We were cursed forever,

The two of us,

Playing pretend,

Throwing our hearts away,

Over and over and over,

And yet, never

To each other,

Together;

You chased after another,

While I withered here,

Keeping the beast inside locked and caged,

But now, it’s too late.

The cage weakened,

It broke open,

While I was too occupied

Collecting starbeams in a jar

For you.

So now,

When you see me okay,

Just know,

You’ve only got

Yourself to blame

Darling,

And I might still have my bad days,

And I might still wake up at 4 in the morning,

Out of breath and suffocating,

Choking,

On the memories you have left me

But you don’t need to know that.

You don’t need to know that

You don’t know me anymore,

You don’t need to know

About these new masks I’ve gotten,

And how they feel like home,

You don’t need to know

About the lies that slip through my teeth,

So effortlessly,

You don’t need to know

About the hole in my gut,

That leaves me empty,

And yet so much lighter,

You don’t need to know

About how I’ve broken my promise too,

And forgiven myself for it;

I’ve changed.


Image credits: Shafaq Mujtaba

16 thoughts on “Untitled.”

  1. Hello! This amazing and I really like the way you write 🙂
    Though, check out my blog, I have made a new one! Make sure you comment and follow 😀
    foreverwritingxblog.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

