Another Sleepless Night.

My God, its almost 3 am and the pills aren’t working again, I’m still awake, scrolling through endless news feeds and its one of those nights where everything is but an infinite circle, the days seem to repeat themselves, and so do the nights, so do I.
I am unable to think of a way to fall asleep, all I can do is feel strangely hollow again, and with it comes the strange knowledge that I’ll be alright no matter what.
It’s peaceful, yes, knowing that, but it isn’t the kind of peace that soothes you, it is an awkward, messy kind of peace that brings with it an awful headache and sets you on edge as if you expect an ambush at any moment, from what, I do not know, but it is a strange, lonely night and I wish I could just fly away or at least be able to sleep, but we don’t always get what we wish for, do we?
We don’t ever get what we wish for, instead we’re left to pine away all our lives for lost dreams and broken hopes, unheard prayers and unanswered phone calls.


Image taken from here.

 

16 thoughts on “Another Sleepless Night.”

  1. I don’t sleep either. I’ll be awake at three am, thoughts swirling round my head and I’ll cry sometimes. I don’t know why I can’t sleep. My brain just doesn’t switch off! I envy those who fall asleep as soon as they get into bed!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That insomnia is so agonizing even though you seem to take it in stride. When I used to work with children that had trouble sleeping, the advice was always to turn off the technology early in the evening. No tv, no computers, no email, no phones. Fill the time with quiet reading or make old-fashioned puzzles to let the mind rest. It worked once the body got used to it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I haven’t really tried that since I might go to bed early, but unable to sleep, I’ll end up back on social networking sites or maybe just listen to music. The latter helps in calming and lulling me to sleep some times too.
      But I’ll definitely try to check if putting gadgets away helps me too. Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

